Putting More Green In My Spring!


I absolutely love this time of year. There is nothing more invigorating than birds singing, the sun shining, and flowers starting to bloom. To quote an old favourite song, I feel as though “I’m walking on sunshine” once Spring finally arrives. I have a perma-grin plastered on my face constantly from all the joy Mother Nature presents upon the arrival of Spring.

Even cleaning doesn’t seem like drudgery in the Spring. The annual Spring cleaning is actually something to look forward to. Did I say that out loud? I have changed my Spring cleaning routine over the last few years to use only biodegradable, non-toxic cleaning products that are easy on the environment, my home’s air quality as well as my budget. The best part is that I get a sparkling clean that smells, well…it doesn’t smell at all.

Not only do I clean the inside of my home with these products, I also clean the outside. They are extraordinarily versatile which saves me even more green while being green! Maybe this is one of the many reasons Spring cleaning isn’t the horrific experience it used to be. I love saving money where I can and saving while being environmentally responsible is a major bonus.

This year I am in the process of creating more garden space to be able to grow more of my family’s food. I love the idea of grocery shopping in my own yard for organically grown produce with only the price tag of putting in my hours outside with my plants. Over the last 2 years,  I have been growing our food crops on our flat roof in large containers. As our needs have grown for different varieties and more plants we need to expand our growing area. It will be a benefit at ground level too since I am a bit of a weenie when it comes to ladders. The going up is fine, it’s the coming back down that freaks me out. So, in order to save myself the task of tending to the roof garden after a long day at work I’ve decided I am going ground-level.

Our outdoor environment and new garden will also benefit from my Spring cleaning supplies. One of my favourite products is called Basic H by Shaklee. I use Basic H in my gardens different purposes. Let me list a few:

  • a few drops on my hands rubbed on like hand lotion creates an “invisible glove” that makes washing up easy once I’m finished
  • natural pesticide. Used in the all-purpose cleaner dilution I use it to rid my plants safely of aphids, whitefly, fungus gnats, mealy bugs and other unwanted visitors without harming me or my plants
  • as a wetting agent it increases the rate of water penetration in the soil by up to 300% which reduces runoff and loss by evaporation
  • less watering needed in dry spells because of sturdier root systems that have grown deeper due to water availability
  • increased earthworm activity. Basic H has a pH of 6.5 which appears to neutralize soil acidity. Earth worm activity increases in balanced soils which in turn lowers need for additional fertilization other than compost.

These uses for Basic H have been reported by others using this product themselves. Shaklee does not promote or guarantee this product for these purposes. I have personally found that all of these uses work for me.  ( To view or order: livelovebegreen.myshaklee.com)

Being eco-responsible isn’t difficult. Anyone can make small tweaks to what they are already doing to make a difference. For me, getting back to the basics seems to make sense while simplifying my day-to-day existence.

I guess I had better get back to cleaning so I can move out into the sunshine!

“Spring makes its own statement, so loud and clear that the gardener seems to be only one of the instruments, not the composer.” ~Geoffrey B. Charlesworth

6 thoughts on “Putting More Green In My Spring!

  1. Hey There. I discovered your blog the use of msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

    • Thanks Carlton. I’m happy to hear you are enjoying my blog and finding the information useful. I will usually be posting on Mondays. At least that’s my goal. Be sure to have a look back at the beginning of each week or follow my blog to have it delivered to your inbox! Thank you for the positive feedback.

Leave a Reply

