Garden Goddess Gets a Garden


Alright, alright…I’m not really a Garden Goddess but it sure sounds good, doesn’t it? I have been plotting and planning inside my head all winter this year. What have I been concocting in my noggin, you ask?

The fruits of my mental labour are about to be revealed. I had alluded to my plans in a previous post and I am thrilled to share my hard work with you.  I have put my nose to the grindstone and put in my much dreamed about vegetable garden!  The only feasible piece of land for growing is smack dab in the middle of my back lawn. I love my fairly large backyard and hesitated to split up the area.  There was just no other way to get a large enough growing space without doing so. The rooftop garden was no longer feasible for everything I intend on growing and the crazy winds we have been experiencing over the past year or so made me nervous about stuff blowing off the roof and onto my car. That would not be a good scene.

The following photos are a step-by-step of the birth of my new garden. Yeah!

These two photos (above and directly below) are of my lawn prior to implementing my plans. As you can see, this is really the only patch that I get good sunlight.

The garden hose (below) has been laid out as an outline. The rototilling is about to begin. I must give a shout out to my neighbour who was very kind and helped me out with this part. He was like a superhero with that rototiller and turned days of work into mere hours. Thank you helpful neighbour!

I left a strip of lawn (below) as a walk from the deck to the rest of the backyard. Plus, it looks inviting.

Below is the (almost) finished product. A few hours of crawling around picking up clods of grass left behind made my back scream out for relief. Thank goodness for the rain that moved in over the last couple of days. As you can see by the wheelbarrow full of rain water we have had a fair bit. My back is ready to get back at raking out any more grass clumps and throwing down compost to be rototilled into the soil.

I am looking forward to planting my heirloom veggies, having my kids spend time in the garden with me, and best of all reaping the bounty of fresh, homegrown organic vegetables.

With the weird up-and-down weather we are experiencing at present I can only look out my window and dream of sunnier days to come.

3 thoughts on “Garden Goddess Gets a Garden

    • My yard is my little oasis away from my often chaotic life. Once the warm weather arrives I enjoy lingering over my morning coffee and breakfast on the deck.

      Believe me, my lawn is definitely not spray painted! That’s funny though. It is mostly moss and weeds at the moment so the new garden helps the appearance!

      Once I get something stuck in my mind it is hard to shake until I tackle it. This garden is one of those things that kept rolling around in my brain and needed, yes needed, to be taken care of.

  1. Pingback: Blanket of White « livelovebegreen

Leave a Reply

