Happiness is Coffee, Croissants and Friendship


This  morning started perfectly. I slept in late (for me) than lazily slid out of bed with the intention of heading outside. Although, a detour to the kitchen to make coffee was at the top of my priority list.

I was waiting for today to break in  my new bistro coffee cups that I received for my birthday via courier.  The mystery package appeared at my door yesterday and after wrestling with the plastic envelope-bag thingy it was packaged in I found, lovingly packaged within, a beautiful bistro cup and saucer set that is a perfect match to all my dishes.  It was sent by two women that I have an incredibly strong bond with. These dear friends I think of more as sisters than friends. We have become an incredible force; a triangle. We are bound together by some invisible force that is much stronger than each of us individually. The friendship between women that respect and truly love each other is a miraculous thing.  There are no catty words…ever. Only the desire to watch each other  succeed and be the absolute best that we can be. I thought of them with each sip of my morning coffee.

I have to say that this is my all-time favourite breakfast. Fresh fruit, a warmed croissant and a hot cup of coffee with lots of soy milk… mmm… it certainly isn’t a picture of perfection in terms of health promoting breakfast choices but I treat myself every so often this way. We all need to enjoy life and moderation is essential. Besides, a treat isn’t a treat if you eat it regularly. Lingering over my favourite breakfast on a beautiful summer morning made it taste even better.

As I slowly sipped my coffee I watched the cedar trees blow in the breeze. I enjoyed the soft, coolness of air on my skin. After so many days of scorching heat and humidity, the comfortable temperature this morning was very welcome. The birds were singing happily and the squirrels were going berserk as usual, jumping from tree to tree. It was intriguing to watch life go on around me, knowing that I was in no way involved other than to be a bystander to their existence.

Suddenly, out of nowhere appeared a visitor that I haven’t seen in a few weeks. The rabbit. I have been noticing that someone has been munching on my onions, bush beans and carrots but haven’t caught anyone in the act. The rabbit was very wily this morning. He (I’m assuming it is a he) made his way carefully around the lawn stopping to nibble on clover in the grass periodically, never once setting foot within the garden. Although, I thought I caught him looking at me from the corner of his eye a few times to see if he was still under surveillance. He scooted off under the neighbour’s fence after a few minutes, thank goodness. I didn’t want to have to set down my coffee to chase him away!

After breakfast I made my way into the garden to weed. I found it therapeutic today. Thinking of nothing but plucking the crabgrass from the soil and tossing it in the bucket. Nobody interrupting me or my thoughts of  nothingness. It was lovely. I got sidetracked a few times and never did finish weeding but I am getting there.  Tomorrow is another day.

Today started with warm thoughts of  cherished friends that has shaped my day into one bursting with appreciation for camaraderie , love and laughter. Thank you ladies.

Let us be grateful to people who make us happy, they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.  – Marcel Proust 

11 thoughts on “Happiness is Coffee, Croissants and Friendship

  1. lovely… thank you for this… and the reminder of the goodness of slowing and enjoying the moment… or moments, when we are blessed with many more than one at a time! 😀

  2. I really like the quote at the bottom of your post. I think I take the people that make me happy for granted too often. I just need to stop and slow down a bit I think 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

  3. Happy to help put a different perspective on things. You are right, it is very easy to get engrossed in what we are doing and neglect to focus on the joy of friendship. There really are few things in life that are as invigorating as time spent “in the moment” with a good friend.

Leave a Reply

