Hot Stuff


The weather here is stifling. It is insanely hot and humid…and icky. I am not a “heat” person. I am mentally coaxing myself into the idea of mind over matter these days. My self-talk seems to go something like this…”you are a comfortable temperature. You are enjoying the fresh air and being outdoors. Enjoy the warmth of the sun.” For the most part this is working well for me most of the time. Today, not so much.

When the temperature read 101 degrees outside on my car thermometer I had to do a double take. And this was without the humidex added in!  No wonder I was feeling so sluggish. It felt like I had been stuffed inside a wet paper bag, thrown in a steam sauna and told to act normal. Not that I would know what the whole wet bag plus sauna feels like but today is what I can imagine it must be like. I do not want to test this theory. The acting normal part of the equation is a bit questionable as well. What is normal, anyway?

Today was too hot and humid for:

– having breakfast on the deck (I hoofed it back inside the house to luxuriate in the a/c splendor as soon as I finished watering my garden early this morning)

– going for a walk or bike ride

– eating much more than raw fruits and veggies (I ate massive amounts of red grapes, raspberries and cherries today)

– cooking. Even barbecuing couldn’t tempt me.

I had some errands to do today so I had to bear the heat during the hottest part of the day. Being out and about while it is so hot and humid made me re-examine  how spoiled we are with all our creature comforts. I felt as though I was the only person in a vehicle with the windows down. I got a few stares of incomprehension from people while stopped at traffic lights. I could almost see the thought balloon above their head saying, “Jeez, lady. Are you nuts? Turn on your a/c.”  I did briefly turn on the air but always put down the windows again when my guilt became too strong to bear and I saw my fuel gauge quickly plummeting.  I must admit, I love the feel of wind blowing my hair all over the place. There is a sense of freedom in just letting my hair dance around. Who cares about tangles…I own a comb!

Don’t get me wrong, I love summer. There are so many reasons to love this beautiful season. My favourite being the ability to just “go with the flow” and turn down the stress dial a few notches.

Now that the sun has departed for another day I think I will head outside to bask in the light of the moon.

“Ah, summer, what power you have to make us suffer and like it.”   -Russell Baker

2 thoughts on “Hot Stuff

  1. Hee! Hee! I am just picturing you driving with your hair blowing crazily all over and you laughing and trying to push it out of your eyes so you can see the road. Did you have Led Zeppling really loud too? 😉

Leave a Reply

