Food of the Gods (and Goddesses)



“Taste every fruit of every tree in the garden at least once. It is an insult to creation not to experience it fully. Temperance is wickedness.”   -Stephen Fry
Fresh, locally-grown fruit. What could possibly taste better? There is something so incredibly magical about the growth of fruit and vegetables.
Today my daughter and I took our first weekly visit of the season to a local farm/produce vendor. All the produce comes from local farmers and only what is in season is available. Nothing is brought in from other regions to satisfy the distorted view of all different types of fruit on a constant basis. It is wonderful to not only eat local produce but “in-season” food as well.
Today we purchased yellow plums, peaches, raspberries and tomatoes. Everything is wickedly delicious.  I cannot stop eating the plums! Sweet and flavorful and oh so very juicy.  The true test of a  prime  ripe fruit is whether the juice runs down your hand and arm when you bite into it. These plums turned me into a sticky mess in no time.
Anyone else around here that plans on tasting these plums had better eat some before they are all gone…I can’t be trusted not to devour them all!
6 thoughts on “Food of the Gods (and Goddesses)

  1. Love your clean, beautiful blog! What is your theme you are using? Just a suggestion, centering your writing is harder to read than left margins. It’s great for quotes, but, the body is easier to read from the left. Just my two cents.:)

    • Thanks Kaye for the pointer. For some reason I was having a difficult time spacing the paragraphs today. Usually I can go back and re-space under Edit but I just threw up my hands today in my quest for a stress-free afternoon. I’ll try your suggestion with my next posting and hopefully you will give me some feedback.
      I’m using Quintus with a pic of choice as the background. I love the tidiness as well.

  2. Yellow plums have been my favourite summer fruit since I was a child. Just picked up some Ontario peaches today as well.

Leave a Reply

