Say what!?


Two nights ago, my energetic daughter and I decided we would do something we haven’t done together since she was very young. We stopped by the Welland Canal while we were out running errands to watch the ships. We were fortunate enough to catch a ship just as it was coming out of  the lock. The two of us sat beside the canal to watch as the ship passed on what we now refer to as the “giant lemon”. The technical term I am at a loss for, so I will call it a cleat or mooring thingy for lack of a better term. It was lovely to sit by the canal in the early evening with someone so dear to my heart and chit-chat about nothing of pressing importance, just whatever came to mind.

 

After the ship passed us by we decided to walk along the path by the canal. Those of you that know me personally may be a little bit shocked at what I am about to reveal. Be prepared. Not only did we walk, but we went for a jog! Yes, I said jog. I know! Me… jogging! I shocked myself with how much energy I had before, during and after. I may just have to rethink my lifelong loathing of all things related to running. I have always loved the idea of running. The wind in my face, blowing my hair and the feeling of freedom people who run seem to have. I want those things. My body just has never cooperated. My state of cardio sucks – and I mean sucks, even though my body is strong. Truth be told, I don’t like the way “things” move around when I run either.

 

So, not only did we jog, we jogged barefoot. Now I understand why barefoot running is so popular. It is totally different from running in shoes and feels incredible. The connection with the surface is a unique feeling and the impact doesn’t feel as harsh. I am not a fan of having filthy feet though and trying to avoid the droppings of Canadian geese was interesting, to say the least. I guess we were not only walking and jogging but also dodging and springing around. It was very freeing, and we giggled together like a couple of kooks. It was such a great feeling to smile from ear to ear and have those that were sharing the path with us to smile back at us as we zipped by them.  We created memories that will last a lifetime with something very simple. We are both looking forward to the next  “jog” together.

6 thoughts on “Say what!?

  1. It’s little moments like these in life that fill it with such beauty and meaning. Strangely it’s those moments we ultimately remember and cherish. Why not try walking. I love it. They say it is the most natural movement any human being can make.

    • It is these little moments that make life special, you are right. I too love walking and definitely prefer it to running but sometimes we all just need to shake things up a bit. I will be adding more walking time into my schedule since autumn is one of the best times for walking in my opinion.

    • Glad I could be a spark to possible inspired action. Laugh in the face of something we both shunned up until now and enjoy! A few seconds at a time, a minute or whatever feels comfortable. The trick is not doing something because we think we should but because we get joy from the action of doing it. The best way to get past our mental images of what, running in this case, should be is to do it with someone you love that will laugh with you. I firmly believe that “playing” is essential for the human spirit to soar.

Leave a Reply

