Rainy Day Play


There is something so therapeutic about waking up to the sound of rain. The softness is enveloping. This morning was one of these peaceful awakenings. It  has set the stage for a wonderful day.

My usual cup of strong coffee with a touch of cinnamon was accompanied this morning by a big bowl of homemade applesauce that I made yesterday from local organic apples with, of course, loads of cinnamon. Yum. After breakfast, my daughter and I spent about half an hour or so braiding each others’  hair for fun while watching old episodes of Charlie’s Angels. We have been working our way through the original series which came out in 1976. We are enjoying and having lots of laughs over the clothing choices of the 70’s. I forgot how popular jumpsuits were!  Not that I was into fashion much in the 70’s since I was only 3 when the show premiered.  After the braiding, which we removed afterwards, we got down to business – and wrestled! Everyone should wrestle for fun at least once a month. It’s hilarious, as long as you are being mindful of your opponent. We  always end up in fits of giggles and trying to catch our breath. Good times. Playing is something that as adults we think we should forget about and be serious all the time. Until I heard Deepak Chopra once say that everyone should remind themselves to play, I forgot how important it was to just let go and stop being serious about everything. Life is meant to be enjoyed at the same time as being productive so why not relax a bit and have some laughs! If you know me personally you will know that I love a good laugh. Laughter is like sunshine for the soul.

Once we got ourselves together, it was time to shift into constructive mode. We had to SHOP! Yes, I said shop. I am not a “shopper” in general. Walking around slowly in mobs of people under fluorescent lighting is excruciating to me. If I have a purpose, such as I had today, I am fine. We executed our list quickly and efficiently so that we could stop into the local Greek Festival on our way home for some lunch. This is where we,yet again, gave thanks for a rainy day since the food line up was short and speedy. A parking spot was quickly located close to the festival so we could jump out, run to the food tent, then run back to the car to take our lunch home.

At present I am taking part in eating only whole foods and have eliminated wheat, dairy, and sugar for the month of September. This posed to be a challenge as I salivated over the thought of spanikopita, greek salad with feta and baklava. Groan. I did bend the rules today fellow “whole food poutine detox” friends. I ate a container of greek vegetarian rice with vegetables. It was perfectly cooked rice in a vegetable broth with cooked vegetables. No cheese, no wheat and no sugar – but there was rice and salt.  I am not beating myself up over this since I only have access to this dish once per year. For the record, it was amazing. If you would like to know more about the group and what we are participating in simultaneously while giving each other support, check out the Facebook page called The Whole30 Clean Month Poutine Detox.

In addition to yesterday’s post about the changing of the seasons I noted something interesting as I was in the grocery store this morning. The pull of autumn is definitely strong. My arms were  full of apples and squash. I’m in full Fall mode. Just thought I would share that in case you happen to be interested. I think a butternut squash soup is in order for dinner on this rainy near-autumn day.

“We don’t stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.”   – George Bernard Shaw
10 thoughts on “Rainy Day Play

  1. Charlie’s Angels clothing: often bra-less! And jumpsuits are only made for thin people! We were all thin back then, haha. Jumpsuits are long gone. I so enjoyed wrestling with my boys, till, they were too strong for me, and I could get hurt. I miss that horsing around. I hate shopping too! Unless it’s in a garden store, or a health food store that I am familiar with. Fall? I just bought two tomato seedlings, hmmmm. – Kaye

  2. I agree Kaye! Garden stores can be dangerous places. Lee Valley? Forget seeing me for the rest of the day! Good thing there isn’t one relatively close to me.

    Sadly, jumpsuits do only look acceptable on a limited segment of the population. If C.Angels is at all representative of the population in the 70’s, many people looked downright underfed. Slim and healthy is attractive, bones protruding are not. On the other hand it sheds light on the epidemic of weight gain in today’s society. You are bang on (and I laughed out loud because it is so true) that being bra-less was prevalent. Super low v-necks and no bra looks like an accident waiting to happen to me! 😉

    Two tomato seedlings! I’m so jealous right now. Our climates are definitely different.
    – Melissa

  3. Thanks for reminding me of SO many more reasons to be glad I’m back home in Canada at this wonderful time of the year! I LOVE fall to… and butternut squash soup sounds WONDERFUL! Great idea!! 🙂

    • I’m glad you are back home in Canada too! Hooray!

      The butternut squash soup was delicious and it’s been requested as a repeat performer at our table. I thought of you as I was making, and enjoying it, thinking of how you would love it as much as I did. It reminded me of that incredible sweet potato-coconut soup you make. Mmm…

    • Thank you, that’s very kind. I’m also glad to have connected with you through these channels. Our Whole30 Poutine Detox group page is a lot of fun and it is great to learn alongside others experiencing the same things. Your blog accounts of your experiences are great thus far! Can’t wait to read more.

Leave a Reply

