Relax…and Have A Bite of Coconut Butter


I feel as though I’ve been running in circles lately but never get everything accomplished that I would like to. Am I simply trying to take on too much? I would like to think I can tackle everything I would like to accomplish but as I mature I am finding that instead of doing more, I like the idea of “leaving space” in my day. Space to do, well…whatever. Usually quiet meditation or sitting outside with my eyes closed listening to the sounds of nature. This is my favourite way to center myself or relax if I’m feeling stressed. It may sound hokey, but it works. Try it the next time you feel nervous, frustrated, stressy, or just want a few minutes of peace. Hopefully the neighbour and his Harley won’t choose this moment to rev the engine and floor it up and down the street repeatedly!

 

 

 

 

One of the things that seems to be occupying my mind, and actions, a lot lately has been food. Food in the sense of meal planning, preparation, cooking, reading cookbooks, grocery shopping, and generally all things food related. I am engrossed in clean eating and loving it!  I certainly don’t find being food-obsessed a hardship by any means. Quite the opposite, really. I am excited by the prospect of trying new things. The best part of it all though is how incredibly fabulous I feel. I never walk away from the table hungry, nor do I find it hard to move from over-stuffing myself with heavy foods. My hunger is satiated and my body refueled with clean energy!

 

One of the many incredible members of the clean food group I am part of on Facebook  posted a link to a recipe for coconut butter. I knew instantly that I had to try it! It took a bit to source the coconut since I wanted organic unsweetened coconut with no sulphites or other preservatives or nasty stuff in it. For some reason it was painfully difficult to find dried unadulterated organic coconut. Weird. I did manage to find it eventually and it was not too outrageously priced either. So yesterday I whipped up a batch of coconut butter. Super simple and super sinful. I think this is hands-down one of the best things I have ever made (or eaten for that matter.) Warning: If you don’t like coconut do NOT, I repeat, do NOT make this. You will hate it since it is totally in-your-face with coco-nutty goodness.

 

To make your own coconut butter you only need two ingredients. Unsweetened shredded coconut and coconut oil, preferably organic. That’s it! How fabulous is that?  You will need either a blender or a mini food chopper. I used a mini food chopper since I knew my  blender wouldn’t perform the task at hand well. Add about half the bag of coconut into the mini chopper and start whizzing it up. In about 5 minutes it will start to stick together. At this point I put about a teaspoon of coconut oil in to help with the dryness. I think it was close to 15 minutes in total that I was blending it in the mini chopper in which time I added about another half teaspoon of coconut oil. Once it comes to your desired consistency, pour it into a clean jar and allow it to set a bit before you dig in. The jar on the front left is the finished coconut butter. I apologize for my jar looking a bit goopy but we couldn’t resist and have been indulging before I was able to snap a picture. Is it possible to wrestle something out of your own hands? That’s basically what I had to do to leave the jar alone long enough to take this pic! Sad, I know. I’m crazy for coconut!

Now that I’m all riled up about this new-found food affair I’m having, I think I had better go outside for a bit and let Mother Nature relax my senses.

“There is sweet water inside a tender coconut. Who poured the water inside the coconut? Was it the work of any man? No. Only the Divine can do such a thing.” -Sri SathyaSai Baba

 
7 thoughts on “Relax…and Have A Bite of Coconut Butter

  1. Hey, if you have any made when I come to your place on Tuesday, I’d like to try it first. Also, there is a place out near Cayuga that is a coconut oil manufacturer and they have a variety of different coconut products, maybe, one day, you could come this way and we could go check it out together.

    Cheers

    • You are in luck! I haven’t eaten it all yet so you most definitely can try the coconut butter. Think pina colada in spreadable form…mmmm. I would love to check out the coconut place with you! Sounds like a road trip waiting to happen! I’m IN!

  2. Pingback: What’s Shakin’ And Bakin’? « carefullcook

Leave a Reply

