Giving Thanks


Here in Canada, Thanksgiving weekend has arrived. I love this time of year. After Christmas I would have to say that Thanksgiving is my favourite “holiday”. The chill in the air, the delicious smells wafting from kitchens and the incredible autumnal colours. This year, Thanksgiving is shaping up to be different from in the past. I have decided to lie low this year and simply take it easy at home with my kids. No huge dinners, no crazy running around, and definitely no travelling on jam-packed highways for hours only to spend a few hours at a table stuffing ourselves silly. We are enjoying each others’ company and loving the simple things like raking the leaves together, choosing a pumpkin, and cranking the tunes and singing like lunatics. Good times.

Our Thanksgiving dinner this year is veering slightly from the traditional. After starting a healthier way of eating at the beginning of September, I am shaking things up a bit by losing the mass amounts of unnecessary sugar, wheat and dairy that usually accompany large meals.  Our Thanksgiving meal will start with a butternut squash soup followed by the main entrée. Instead of turkey, a whole chicken has been requested so I will be making a herb roasted chicken as well as homemade vegetarian baked beans for us veg-heads. The side dishes will be plentiful – carmelized Brussel sprouts, whipped garlic potatoes, rutabaga,  and homemade stuffing.  For dessert I have decided upon a gluten-free, dairy-free pumpkin pie that my mouth starts to water at the thought of.  It sounds as though I will be busy in the kitchen slaving away. To me I am content and happy making healthy food to nourish my family. I have always felt that when we cook for our self and our family with love and kindness in our heart the food we prepare will be nurturing and full of love.

I have so much to be thankful for this year. I won’t bore you with my list that goes on, and on…and on.  Instead I will turn the corners of my mouth up into a smile and let my heart be wide open with love and gratitude for the goodness that I have been blessed with.

“Gratitude is the inward feeling of kindness received. Thankfulness is the natural impulse to express that feeling. Thanksgiving is the following of that impulse.”  – Henry Van Dyke

12 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. Soooo… what time is dinner??? Hehe… sounds like an amazing meal that will make you feel amazing to! 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving… and you know I’ll be asking…”So, what was your playlist for cranking tunes and singing like lunatics??” We’ll have to swap stories next week! 😀 That’s one tradition I’ve been enjoying for a couple of years now on this particular weekend! Blessings to you for a good and restful and yes, nourishing weekend for you and your family! xoxo

    • You know you are always welcome at our table Sheryl. The playlist thus far has been varied. Good conversation for a workday this week 😉 Sending you blessings for a splendid weekend as well! Enjoy your rest and relaxation after the trio of Styx concerts! Can’t wait to hear your stories! -Melissa xo

  2. You are in paradise, one you created. I wish for you all the bounty, joy and love our Earth has to offer. I am thankful for You, all you have given me, all you have shared with me. My life is better because of you.

  3. We do create our own surroundings and I choose one that is uplifting. We all have stresses and worries but how we perceive and deal with them sets the underlying tone of our day to day existence. Thank you, dear friend. I count myself very fortunate that we share such an incredible friendship. Your love, guidance and inner fiestiness are empowering and inspirational. You are loved. May your Thanksgiving be filled to overflowing with goodness and life’s sweet offerings. xo

  4. I think you’re so wise LLBG. So often when we celebrate moments like these their significance is absolutely lost under the rush and complexity of it all. Keeping it simple no doubt nurtures and enables the true spirit of the celebration. I’m convinced of that. I’ve always admired your Thanksgiving celebration – I wish we had something like that. Great post. Always enjoy your posts.

  5. Thank you Don. It is heart-warming to hear that others share my outlook on slowing down a bit to appreciate things fully. So true that when we get caught up in the whirlwind we miss so much of the celebration. The phrase “stop and smell the roses” is a great motto for full enjoyment. Glad you are enjoying my posts. I find your blog very meaningful as well and look forward to your postings. The Thanksgiving celebration can be enjoyed whether it be a formal holiday or not. Simply creating the circumstances where we think about and give thanks for the goodness of Life is Thanksgiving in my mind. Why not have your own version of Thanksgiving? Perhaps you will start a movement!

Leave a Reply

