Breaking of the Storm


The sun is finally starting to show its beautiful face again. We are getting small fleeting smiles from the sky before clouds drift in front again to continue the dismal grayness that colours today. Here in the Niagara region of southern Ontario we were very fortunate to have escaped the wrath of Sandy (A.K.A. Frankenstorm.) We had our fair share of rain, definitely, and high winds that whipped trees around as though they were licorice. I haven’t seen much in the way of damage or downed trees today while doing a few errands. I wonder if this is due to the last nasty windstorm we had in April 2011 that seemed to uproot and rid this area of weak or vulnerable trees. The region lost many trees in a day and schools were evacuated due to high winds. We even had a tree fall on our house almost directly above where I was sitting at the time. It was frightening…but I am getting off track.

Last night we were as prepared as we could have been under the circumstances. Most of the prep went unused, thankfully. The only thing used was the chilled beer and sadly, the submersible pump. The pump is still being used as I type. Nothing drastic, just a bit of water coming up through the drain in the laundry room floor from  supersaturation  of the ground due to how quickly and heavily the rain came. Nothing was damaged since the laundry room is a simple concrete floor and the water only surrounded the drain. The amount of rainfall in the time span was unusual so really, no surprise that water backed up. Thankfully it was a minute amount compared to what many others have experienced over the past few days.

This morning I took a few pictures through the windows of our house. You don’t think I was going to go stand out in the pouring rain and wind, did you? The photos, although not top-notch, give an idea of how the rain was pounding on the house. The colour of the sky is accurate and the pictures were taken mid to late morning. It felt as though it was evening it was so dark and dreary.

Sandy

Sandy/Frankenstorm

Frankenstorm

My favorite tree toughing it out.

My favorite tree toughing it out.

Driving rain on the walkway

Rain on the Front Walkway – I think I can put the garden hose away now.

Winter-ready Back Garden Being Hammered by Rain and Wind

I am very grateful that we made it through Sandy/Frankenstorm relatively unscathed as did friends and family. My thoughts and prayers go out to all of those that were not as fortunate to escape the wrath of this storm.

I am sure many of you have seen some of these photos already. I included them to show the severity of this storm. See photos here: Affects of Sandy captured by others can be seen in these few photos.

This was yet another example of the power of Nature.

“In all things of nature there is something of the marvelous.”     Aristotle

10 thoughts on “Breaking of the Storm

    • I should be the one thanking you for listening to me being very uncool last night! Thank you for your kindness. I would love to share my green domain with you any time…you are always more than welcome! Although in a month or two it shall be a white domain (to which the door is still open for you- just bring red wine)!

Leave a Reply

