Baking for the Soul


I must admit, I am highly unorganized this year. By now I am usually finished my holiday baking and appetizer-making and have everything carefully portioned in my freezer. I prefer to be prepared so that I am less stressed once the entertaining approaches.  I am far behind this year but I am not worried though as I seem to stay calm and focused under pressure. I started making my baking and cooking  list and checking it twice last week. I knocked one appetizer prep off the list then and it is nicely nestled in its chilly home…temporarily. Yesterday “THE BAKING” began. That is said in a booming, echoey voice by the way. My house is smelling super-scrumptious at the moment. Cinnamon and chocolate scents waft throughout each room and envelope you as you walk in the front door. Yum.

 

As my friends and family know, I love to bake so now that I have started I find it hard to stop. I even woke up a few times during the night last night thinking that perhaps if I was really quiet, I could knock something else off my list. Then my rational brain took the helm and it told me to get back to sleep. Thank you rational brain.

 

This morning the temperature feels rather balmy at 16 degrees fahrenheit (or 61 degrees celsius if you prefer). I am having a hard time refocusing. I feel the need to get outside! There is rain in the forecast for this afternoon and the temperature is supposed to drop dramatically so I think I will take this time to go for a walk to breathe in some fresh air and regroup. This comfortable temperature is – or should be – an oddity here in Canada at this time of year. At least in southern Ontario. December, in my mind, should bring snowflakes, ice skating and winter jackets…not hoodies. I love this time of year when the snow flies and Jack Frost leaves designs on the windows each morning. I guess I’ll just have to bake in spring-like temperatures with the windows open so my neighbours can be tempted by the fragrances of the holidays!

 

 

 

“Food for the body is not enough. There must be food for the soul.”  – Dorothy Day

 

 

11 thoughts on “Baking for the Soul

    • Glad I decided to go for a walk when I did! The clouds have arrived to block out the beautiful sun and the temperature is definitely dropping. An hour-long walk was just what I needed to clear the cobwebs.

  1. The problem is, if I started baking, the stuff would never make it to the freezer! Your temps are warmer, because the planet is warmer, unfortunately, and we all need to heed the warning. Have fun! – Kaye

    • Sad, but true, Kaye. Climate change is a reality we can no longer ignore. I dislike the term “global warming” simply because it’s not just about the warming of temperature but shifts in weather patterns. Whatever we want to call it, it’s still altering the climate.

      I seemed to have conditioned myself not to want to eat mass amounts of baked goods over the last couple of years. I prefer feeling great, not sluggish. When our mind and our body meet, the hand to mouth action falls into line. 😉

      I always aim for FUN! Thanks, Kaye.

Leave a Reply

