Welcoming Winter


Finally! We have snow…and lots of it! I think we have had more snow in the last four days than we did all last winter.

 

 

snowy porch light

snowy porch light

 

I love the look of snow. The crisp whiteness that makes everything look clean and pure. The way animal tracks show up so perfectly. Most of all I love the look of snow heavy on tree branches. The crisp white against the greens and browns of the trees. I could reflect on this for hours. The temperature is cold but wonderfully fresh and the air feels cleaner for some reason. There is a certain scent to snow that is so incredible. You may think I sound a bit nutty, but seriously, breathe deep the next time the snow falls (if you are in an area that receives snow) and smell for yourself. Lovely…ahhhh…

 

I have to admit though that I am not a winter sport kind of gal. I don’t like having cold fingers, toes or nose for any length of time. The thought of skiing gracefully downhill is appealing, than I remember that I am a total klutz. I think I am better suited to sitting by the fire in the chalet. I love the thrill of tobogganing, though. Bumping and flying down a hill at top speed totally out of control! I always find myself screaming and laughing until I cry. I instantly turn into a kid again. Not much skill needed. Just strong legs and stamina to get myself back up the hill repeatedly. Note to Self: get my butt out to the sledding hill. I usually end up as a giant snowball at least once, but it is so worth it. This would make a great Girls’ Night activity. I must put the word out. Sledding, then wine and snacks…who’s in?

 

It has been snowing beautiful, fluffy snowflakes all day. I went out into my backyard to look at the trees and quickly found my jeans soaking wet and heavy. I stayed out for only a few minutes to fill my lungs with the wonderfully crisp air and listen to the stillness that winter always brings.

 

snow pressed up against the door

snow pressed up against the door

 

 

 

 

snow accumulated on the outdoor chandelier

snow accumulated on the outdoor chandelier

snow-covered tree

snow-covered tree

” Nature looks dead in winter because her life is gathered into her heart. She
withers the plant down to the root that she may grow it up again fairer and
stronger. She calls her family together within her inmost home to prepare them
for being scattered abroad upon the face of the earth.” ~Hugh Macmillan,
“Rejuvenescence,” The Ministry of Nature, 1871

 

 

6 thoughts on “Welcoming Winter

  1. I love the idea of sledding and laughing til we cry like kids – and THEN heading home for a glass of wine 🙂 Great photos too. I agree, snow makes everything look so clean. I like it (which is a darn good thing considering how far north I live!) 😉 Thanks for a great post. Cheers! Gina

Leave a Reply

