Recycled Thoughts


Tomorrow is garbage day. Whoop-dee-doo, you say. Well, it is something to be conscious of, I think.  As I was sorting through the recycling – oh joy – and putting each item in its allotted bin I realized how much stuff we actually use. Or in this case, not use. There must be a better way than tossing everything into recycle bins. You can only reuse so much packaging without looking like the neighbourhood freakazoid with strange bird feeders hanging from every branch and nasty-looking garden sculptures. I refuse to go there so please don’t suggest that I “make stuff” with my soy milk cartons and wine bottles. OK, the wine bottles go to the Beer Store to be recycled  along with beer bottles. We receive  a deposit rebate so I won’t be making a garden wall out of wine bottles any time soon. I wouldn’t want my friends to think I drank that wine single-handedly. Come to think of it, my friends probably helped me drink most of it!

 

 

I started doing a bit of research as to what happens to our recycling once it is taken from the curbside. It is rather difficult to find specifics for the region I live in. Yes, we seem to have a great recycling program. Almost everything can be recycled and/or composted. Or can it? This is my question. Are the items we put into our recycle and city green waste bins really being recycled? I need to look into this further for my own information. I am a firm believer in recycling, reusing, and most of all reducing. I would almost always pay more or somewhat inconvenience myself in the name of being earth-friendly. I am OK with this. I prefer to carry bulky reusable water bottles with me than buy a plastic bottle of water. My kids lunch bags are jam-packed with containers instead of plastic baggies. I purchase household laundry and cleaning products that are super concentrated to avoid excess packaging (see the Live Love Be Green website at the right side of this blog  for more details). I don’t even get a newspaper to cut down on paper use. Mind you, the newspaper is pure crap. I find spelling errors in almost every article and it is written at a very low skill level which I find aggravating. I still have too much recycling to put to the curb each week. Sigh.

 

 

 

I need to find a way to reduce the amount of recycling that finds its way to my blue and grey bins. That is the situation I am dealing with here.  I came across a statistic that states on average, 16% of the purchase price of a product is in its packaging which ultimately just ends up being tossed in the garbage or recycle bin. Think of all the money we could be saving. I shall be more diligent and mindful of packaging before I purchase an item rather than after as I am stuffing it into my bin, cursing under my breath about too much wasted paper/plastic. The weird thing is, when I look around my kitchen I see a lot of non-packaged items. We eat a LOT of fresh fruits and veggies that are in the packaging that Mother Nature provided. No pre-cut lameness here. It takes about 30 seconds to cut an apple into slices. Why on earth would I buy apples pre-sliced and needing a preservative to keep them appearing “fresh”. Stupidity. Sorry if this offends you but, seriously? I think I went off topic…again. Sounds like my conversations with my friends over coffee or one of those bottles of wine that won’t be made into a garden sculpture.  I purchase large bags of dried beans and lentils as well as ginormous bags of rice to avoid a bunch of little wasted bags and to get a better per unit price.  It baffles me how we seem to accumulate so much in the way of packaging.

 

 

As far as garbage that goes out to the curb, our household generally puts out one small grocery bag in our garbage pail each week. I think at Christmas we were extravagant and put out four small grocery bags one week. I was wracked with guilt. Briefly. Then I compared that with the amount we used to put in the garbage pail even 5 years ago and am amazed at the progress we have made. For the most part without any inconvenience.  I don’t think my family even realizes that they are making any sort of added effort to reduce their garbage since I have implemented an easy to use system that requires minimal thinking. Oh, I am so cunning.

 

 

How do you keep your packaging and recycling amounts to a minimum?

 

 

 

 

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.”  – Margaret Mead

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
6 thoughts on “Recycled Thoughts

  1. It was just last week I had a similar thought. We recycle lots at the curb, plus we take certain items (paint cans, batteries, electronics…) to the facility, BUT I have no idea what happens with the stuff after it leaves our hands. Is it recycled? Hmmm, I really don’t know.

    It sounds you are being very conscientious. And wanting to do more is impressive. You set a great example!

    • Only trying to do my part in being responsible and setting a good example for my children. If it is just a regular, every day thought process it won’t be a big deal. Although, I may have created LitterBug Police. My kids certainly aren’t shy about telling people to pick up after themselves! 😉

    • It’s always reassuring to know there are others that are thinking along the same lines as I am. I think that’s the point though – once we start thinking about what improvements we can make, we start acting on them.

  2. I try to be mindful before I buy, yes… have to admit to have been a little lazy lately… I did notice an extra accumulation of waste over the Christmas season… but in the faster pace, it is more difficult to be mindful… not a good reason though… more of an excuse. Thanks for this post and the reminder… 🙂

Leave a Reply

