Winter Skin Blues


This frigid weather is brutal on my skin! My back is itching like crazy and my face feels as dry as a desert. I have tried product after product trying to aid my visage to no avail. The closest I have come with a manufactured product has been the gorgeous line of Shaklee Enfuselle products. I use these products on a year-round basis because they are naturally sourced and chock full of great stuff for my skin. However, this time of year always gets my skin crying out for extra TLC, no matter what. For the past few years I have slapped on coconut oil religiously and it works pretty well. However, my kids balk at the scent of it and make gasping noises when they come in for a hug. Thanks, guys. It can’t really be that bad. In the container it smells delicious like a pina colada. On my face, not so much, obviously. Weird since I can’t smell it and my nose just happens to be smack dab in the centre of my face.

 

I think I have finally come up with a solution! The past few weeks I have been experimenting. I am sort of in an obsessive domain at present since the itching and stinging of dry skin is all-encompassing. I have tried a slew of DIY concoctions with varying success and have put ingredients from different skin care recipes together in my own formulations. I have figured out that exfoliation two times per week is necessary during the winter. I’m sure there are skin gurus out there gasping somewhere. Oh well.

 

 

Almost good enough to eat!

Almost good enough to eat!

 

 

 

Perfectoid Exfoliating Scrub:

*All ingredients are approximate amounts since I just put everything into a small dish and use immediately. This makes the correct amount for one use this way everything is fresh, fresh, fresh.

 

  • 1 tsp melted organic coconut oil
  • 1 tsp avocado oil
  • 1 tsp white sugar
  • 1 tsp used coffee grounds (or is it grinds? I am never certain)

Mix these few ingredients together and you are ready for superior exfoliating and moisturizing action!

Splash warm water on your face a few times – just water, no cleanser necessary. You will feel as though you are in a face wash commercial at this point. Turn off the tap to conserve water while applying the concoction. Scoop a bit of the mixture onto your fingertips and apply to face starting with the forehead and working your way down. Apply all of the mixture before starting to scrub. Lightly scrub in small circles starting at the forehead while leaning over the sink since bits will fling while you are scrubbing. Go easy. You don’t want to irritate your sensitive facial skin.  Allow the scrub to stay on your face for a minute or two for the most benefit. It is now time to wash off the mixture with warm water. Cool water is great for your skin but makes the oils harden slightly so it is much easier to rinse with warm water then follow with a couple splashes of cold water. Do not use any cleanser or soap to wash of the oil residue. This is beneficial to your skin and no, it will not cause breakouts.  Pat your face dry gently. Very gently.

 

You are finished!

 

For added moisturizing, I finish with a very light coat of either avocado oil or coconut oil (at night). If it feels too oily simply dab a tissue over your face to remove excess. If you wear makeup, now is the perfect time to apply. I usually add extra moisturizer to my tinted moisturizer for a more natural look anyway so this is a great way to cut out a step.

 

 

Why did I choose to use these particular ingredients? Other than they were some of the few ingredients that my very sensitive skin didn’t react wickedly to.

Coconut Oil –

  • prevents and protects skin against free radical damage.
  • aids in reestablishing the skin’s natural antimicrobial and acid barrier
  • easily absorbs into the skin and doesn’t feel greasy
  • helps to reduce inflammation

 

Avocado oil –

  •  avocado oil is rich in vitamins A, D and E, all of which  help maintain healthy skin
  • heals and soothes skin
  • keeps skin young and supple
  • helps reduce itching, dryness, and inflammation

 

 

Sugar –

  • stripping away tired old skin by using an exfoliant is rejuvenating. Exfoliants smooth your skin and help increase the production of new collagen to improve the appearance of fine lines
  • sugar is rough enough in texture to help rid the top layer of dry skin
  • can be too abrasive and cause sensitivity if scrubbed to firmly. Go easy. If white sugar is too scratchy feeling, perhaps brown sugar would be a better option for you.

 

 

Coffee Grounds –

  • contains caffeic acid which is suggested to have anti-inflammatory and anti-oxidant effects
  • stimulates collagen production
  • helps skin feel silky smooth
  • great use for used coffee grounds since I am not using them in the garden this time of year
  • What can I say? I love coffee whether it be in me or on me!

 

 

 

One of the best ways to assist skin this time of the year is ensuring you maintain a high level of water consumption. I drink a lot of water because I simply like water not juices. I must admit that I suck down far too much coffee which doesn’t help but I do try to compensate by drinking extra water for every cup of coffee I consume.

 

If you try out this DIY exfoliator, please report back with your comments.

 

 

“Taking joy in living is a woman’s best cosmetic.”  – Rosalind Russell

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Winter Skin Blues

  1. This sounds amazing. I’m not nearly as industrious as you. I just went to look at the ingredients in this hand scrub I bought awhile back that really leaves my hands smooth and soft. (ideally I think you are supposed to buy a hand cream in the line to finish with) I wanted to see what the gritty part is, and it’s ground organic brown sugar and macadamia nuts, as well as dates, oats, honey, bee pollen, and extracts of green tea, olive leaf and bee propolis. All organic. by Prada Lab, in case you are interested, and they have a face one also. But, DIY is always best, and least expensive. And, I just started making my son a mug of coffee a day, so was wondering (since I haven’t gotten going at composting yet) what to do with the grounds. Had no idea they were good for skin! Great post! – Kaye http://www.youtube.com/user/kittrellkaye

    • It takes a mere minute to mix this up which is yet another bonus to DIY skincare. Your hand scrub sounds absolutely luxurious. I just really love the feeling of accomplishment from making something myself that works well. I am also very frugal. 😉 There are so many great uses for coffee grounds! My son has just started enjoying coffee as well so the amount of grounds piles up faster with two of us enjoying it! Perhaps I should make him use my coffee concoction as well! That would go over like a lead balloon! HA!

      Thanks, Kaye.

    • There are so many wonderful uses for coconut oil! I haven’t tried it on my hair yet but it looks like a great alternative to the traditional hot oil treatments that can be purchased. Do you use it daily or as a treatment every so often? Enjoy!

      • I use it daily, especially for the kids…our hair is natural (no chemicals or relaxers) so it softens it and helps with dry scalp…i hear it can be used as a conditioner too but i have never tried it.

        Some of my friends mix it with Shea butter and extra virgin olive oil

  2. Thanks for the info, Boomie. For dry scalp it would be fabulous. Ooo…the shea butter blend would be great too. I think with my hair it would work best as a conditioner or hot oil treatment while avoiding the roots.

  3. Angel Dear (almost wrote your name Sally!!! my that would of been embarrassing), I am going to try! Your symptoms and mine are all too alike. I’ve got white girl syndrome and this sh!t is Cracking!! I will inform you of the results in a week. Seeing as I wont be able to start until Sunday.
    Thanks for the all natural advice. Any advice on how to curb the 3-o’clock wall and need of a chocolate fix???! im getting seat spread over here!!

    • HaHa! Oh, Angel Chels-a-nayTOR…I miss you and your antics. “We like BIG BUTTS and we can not lie!” OK, maybe not on us, per say. Keep movin’ whenever you can. Let me know how the exfoliating scrub goes for you. On the days I don’t use the scrub I wash with a mix of avocado oil and sesame oil. I smell good enough to eat! lol. I don’t think my skin has ever been so soft. As for the 3 o’clock slump – take your B Complex, Girl! I like to move it, move it!

Leave a Reply

