February Blues


Never be afraid

This morning I needed these words of wisdom. Sometimes I get so wrapped up in being strong not only for myself but for those around me that I lose track of where I’m headed.  The everyday mundane stuff creeps in until it takes over. Just when I think I know myself and what I want from life a giant bird of prey swoops down and clutches my resolve in its sharp talons. Today I feel “ho-hum” and sort of bumbly. The February blues caught up to me early this year for some reason. I don’t feel depressed, per say, just kind of blah. I’m sure it is the lack of being outdoors that is bringing me down.

In an attempt to perk myself up I cranked up some Buddy Guy on the stereo and am relaxing to the raw sounds of Buddy and the driving rain outside. I know that my dear friend Crystal (Change My Body, Change My Life) would tell me that I have some work to do on myself right now. I think I will listen to her words of wisdom. Today I will focus on my dreams, desires and who I am becoming. Life is constant change.

I need to give my head a shake, open up my umbrella and breathe in some fresh air. I do my best thinking out-of-doors.

“Men do change, and change comes like a little wind that ruffles the curtains at dawn, and it comes like the stealthy perfume of wildflowers hidden in the grass.”  – John Steinbeck

9 thoughts on “February Blues

  1. Did you right this with me in mind?? haha Because sometimes I think I just need to break down and cry. Get it all out, then move on. I do need to work on getting outside more. There is something therapeutic about it…at least when it’s not so dang cold and windy like it is here today! 🙂

    • I did think of you as I hit “publish” Teresa, knowing how we both seem to be dealing with similar crap at present. Funny you thought the same thing…again. Darn that car in the garage! 😉

      Luckily the rain stopped as soon as I finished this post so I went for a brief walk minus the umbrella. Yesterday my daughter and I went for a walk in the frigid wind and it felt invigorating. Kind of like Mother Nature was trying to give me a slap to the face to get me out of my funk.

      I had asperations of puttering around Chapters/Indigo as well today but I just don’t have it in me – I’d want to buy everything I lay my eyes on since I’m a total bookworm!

      Crying can be a great release, I agree. Today though, I think I need to dance furiously to work out the glumness!

  2. Glad you were able to get out for a bit. Movement and fresh air can nourish you physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually; but sometimes just being still can, too. You’ll know what is best for you. Wishing you beautiful dreams and desires for the future Melissa!

    • Good luck to your husband today, Kaye. I hope the quote is somewhat uplifting for him.
      “Mustang Sally” is always a good song to put the sass back in the day. Enjoy!

      Thanks for the link. After reading the symptoms/suggestions of February blues/SAD I think I need to alter my wording slightly. My Inner Pep just isn’t quite as powerful as usual and my head and heart are swirling with “stuff”. I’m sure you know what I mean. I am naturally a morning person and have no trouble bouncing out of bed with a spring in my step 99% of the time. I realized I have been negligent though with ensuring to take my B Complex and vitamin D. I should know better. Tsk, tsk.

      Thanks, Kaye.
      -Melissa

    • It is reassuring to know that I am not the only one that loses my pep once in a while. Music can be a wonderful vehicle for lifting the mood and encouraging action. The key is choosing music that is motivating and inspiring, not depressing. Yikes…that’s not at all helpful!

      Your site is fabulous. Thanks for popping in to see what I’m about.

Leave a Reply

