Day of Smells


Yesterday. The Day of Smells. Every day is filled with smells you may say, but yesterday seems to be especially poignant in my mind. Let me explain.

 

 

 

Daffodils - Narcissus

Daffodils – Narcissus

 

 

 

Although the day was filled to overflowing with scents, there were a few that really stood out.

 

 

 

Starting my day as usual…freshly ground coffee. Mmmm, my favorite smell to start the day. Without coffee’s mouth-watering aroma my day is not the same. I even ran in to Starbucks yesterday for an extra fix on my way to work which is highly unusual. Alright, alright, I really needed a washroom before jumping in the work truck due to an overabundance of coffee already but I just can’t resist the deliciousness of wafting coffee aromas. “I’ll have a Venti Tribute Blend black, please.” Ah, just what I needed. Smell #1.

 

 

 

Smell #2 – crunchy, decaying leaves on the forest floor. I just love that earthy, rich fragrance. Breathe deep.

 

 

 

“In the spring, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt.” – Margaret Atwood

The fragrance of Spring is in full force. So many wonderful smells at this time of the year. More so than at any other time, I would say.  Hyacinth’s distinct smell perfumed the air yesterday. Such a heady fragrance.  The only issue was that while the hyacinth perfume was filling my nostrils another odour wafted in and altered the experience – skunk. Cough, cough…ew. There was obviously a skunks home in the vicinity. Wowzers, it was extra odoriferous.

 

 

 

The best smell of the day was a first for the season and another of my favorite smells – fresh-cut grass. Oh my. My head was swooning from the green ambrosia. Is it getting hot in here, or is it just me? Ahem, sorry.  There is something so mesmerizing about the first whiff of cut grass for the season. Oh who am I kidding, I am always affected by it. Always have been. So much so that years ago two friends of mine from high school (yes, I’ve love the fragrance that long) gave me a fresh-cut lawn scented candle as a gift. It was pretty darn close to the real thing too.

 

 

 

The worst odor of the day was also the last. There was a strange, funky smell in the hallway outside my office door. It was a strong iron-like stench with undertones of wet pennies. Gag. I was on a mission to find what was causing the rancidity and I eventually found it. Uh-oh. My daughter’s hamster had died and left behind wafting lines of stank. It is shocking how quickly dead animals start to decompose. I had heard him sifting around through his bedding the day before. Perhaps poor little Marshmallow was preparing himself for the inevitable. Sniff. We have had a few hamsters as pets over the years and each of them had unique personalities. Marshmallow was by far my favorite. He was a gentle little creature and will be missed. Many tears were shed last night over not being able to say goodbye. Sometimes a final farewell is within the heart, not with words. This morning I had the task of burying Marshmallow in the garden. I chose his final resting place in a small garden filled with Black-Eyed Susan that my daughter and her best friend planted two summers ago. What did I notice while fluffing the soil afterward? The spicy aroma of cedars and warm earthiness of the soil.

 

 

 

 

 

 “Spring won’t let me stay in this house any longer! I must get out and breathe the air deeply again.” – Gustav Mahler

10 thoughts on “Day of Smells

  1. Your post is like a breath of spring! I was waiting for you to smell the daffodils so I could experience that through you. Growing up in TN, daffodils popping up marked spring for me, and I got practically drunk on sniffing them. Thanks for a great start to my day! – Kaye
    PS In SoCal, though, I wish everyone would take out their grass and grow vegetables. If we are going to deplete the Colorado River, let’s make it productive. 🙂

    • I used the pic of daffodils along my front walk only because I don’t have a photo of hyacinths (and like you, daffodils say Spring to me as well). Happy to have started your day in a positive way! I must agree with you in regard to lawns. There are pros and cons of grass depending on your locale but I think too many people think grass is essential. Veggies are definitely more useful.

      -Melissa

  2. Rest in peace, gentle Marshmallow. Melissa, seeing through your eyes and sniffing through your nose provides a perfect nature moment today…an opportunity to “stop and smell the…” hyacinths!! By the way, I definitely am riding with the top down today. 🙂

  3. I’m so sorry about Marshmallow. It sounds like he’s resting in a beautiful place, though. I loved your descriptions of the scents. Fresh-cut grass is such an intoxicating and refreshing scent. I’d love to know where your friends found that candle!

    • Marshmallow lived a lengthy life for a hamster. Thanks for your kindness. All creatures deserve to be cared for. I neglected to mention a few scents which make regular appearances like the gas-powered tools we use at work that make my hair smell divinely of exhaust. 😉 Intoxicating is definitely the correct word to describe fresh-cut grass. I need to work on staying focused when its scent permeates my surroundings. The grass candle was from the Gap but as far as I know they haven’t carried that scent in aeons!

Leave a Reply

