Garden Goddess Strikes Again


It’s that time of year again! The annual planting of my veggie garden. My green thumbs are twitching and I’m ready to get dirty…again.

 

 

 

Last weekend, I made the trek to the “local” heirloom plant sale and stocked up. There were a few things that I couldn’t get my hands on like kale, so I am still on the hunt for a few items. Fingers crossed that I’ll find good quality heirloom plants. The garden centres seem to be either picked over, sold out, or they lost mass amounts of plants due to the frost we had last week. I’ll be keeping my eyes peeled.

 

 

 

In order to prep the garden, I needed a rototiller. I wasn’t in the frame of mind to ask the neighbour that helped me last year. This year I wanted to do it myself. It looked like to fun of an opportunity to pass up. Who doesn’t like crazy, loud engines attached to tines that clutch hungrily at the soil? I just couldn’t resist the temptation. The last time I used a rototiller was in Horticulture college. It was not a positive experience, although I did laugh like crazy when a friend of mine wanted to be the first to take a crack at it. Having no clue what she was doing she quickly lost control and was dragged along behind it. I seem to remember that being the last time I ever saw my beautiful, off-white fisherman sweater…she had borrowed it. This year’s garden prep was the perfect opportunity for me to have at it. Luckily, I have a fan-flippin’-tastic boss that just happened to have a rototiller I could borrow. I was in luck! This machine kicks butt! I seriously need one!

 

 

 

The Machine That Won My Heart

The Machine That Won My Heart

*if you look to the right of the rototiller you can see my new spade mentioned in a previous post (that I did not dance late into the night with).

 

 

 

The only problem with me having a rototiller of my own would be that I would feel the need to dig up every bit of unused space on my property. Plus, I’d like to be less petrol-dependent so this would be seriously counter-productive.

 

 

 

Let me just say that the time I spent rototilling the garden has been the most fun I’ve had all week. And I’ve had a good week so far. Is that sad?

 

 

 

I worked up a serious sweat working in this crazy heat we’ve been having. It’s been above 32 degrees Celsius the last couple days. I thought it would be great to go with  breezy, wavy beach hair this morning which was not well thought out. My hair is super thick as it is so this made it even thicker feeling. Looked great before I started gardening though. I tried an easy  beach wave spray recipe that uses sea salt, coconut oil, water and hair gel. Oh…my…gosh. Why this is a good idea while hot out I won’t ever understand. It made me even hotter. I will not be hanging out on a beach after spraying my hair with this concoction, let me tell you. Mind you, I don’t normally hang out on beaches anyway since sand in my bathing suit makes me cranky.  This hair technique must be reserved for days when I will be trying to sport a carefree look while in air conditioning.

 

 

 

Soft soil after rototilling

Soft soil after rototilling

 

 

 

 

It took me all of about 15 seconds to figure out proper tilling technique and get serious. The soil in the garden is now so fluffy that it is simply dreamy. I was able to smooth it flat(ish) with a leaf rake afterward. That’s how soft it is. This is temporary since soon enough it will be tamped down by rain, walking around in it, and settling. I must get my vegetable plants in the ground when the soil is perfect. Not only does it make my life easier but the plants get a great start at getting their roots going with as little resistance as possible. I guess you know what I’ll be doing later this afternoon.

 

 

 

 

 

“There can be no other occupation like gardening in which, if you were to creep up behind someone at their work, you would find them smiling.”  ~Mirabel Osler

12 thoughts on “Garden Goddess Strikes Again

    • Ha! No dancing while tilling. I had to hang on tight and stay focused! The plants are all in their new homes, watered and looking wonderful. Day well spent. I like the picture your imagination paints, Cyndi. 🙂

    • Give it a go, Teresa! You may find an extra way to have fun and get a bit of unscheduled muscle building time as a bonus. Besides, you can’t hear anyone calling you when it’s going. If you can pry the rototiller out of your husband’s hands, that it! 😉

    • In all it’s glory and covered with dirt, that is “the spade”. Thanks, Don. Plants are now planted in the ground and I’m on rabbit alert for a few weeks until the plants are past the new growth stage that entices the furry specimens that are so plentiful in the neighbourhood.

      • They are wild rabbits that are actually quite tame. They will come within a couple feet of me while I am outside working or relaxing. They will multiply (like rabbits as the saying goes) all season therefore bringing more friends to the party going on in my garden. They are gorgeous little creatures but last year ate every bean and pea plant as it sprouted new leaves. As a result, we didn’t get to enjoy any beans or peas that I was so looking forward to.

      • Usually I chase them while clapping my hands. Yes, I look silly but it’s effective. I have turned the hose on them before which also works but it just feels mean. If they start to nibble at my new plants I will need to build some sort of barricade around the susceptible plants. So far the rabbits seem to be distracted by the clover growing in my lawn.

  1. If I had more space to plant, I might get one of these. In TN, I saw something called a garden claw that you jam into the earth and twist back and forth. No bending, no heavy pick. Still I think it would not penetrate my hard clay soil. – Kaye

    • They really are great fun. You would surely love turning your soil with a rototiller. Ah, the Claw. We had one when I was a kid. Honestly, it was such a pain to use and didn’t work well in our soil so it sat in my parents’ shed unused. In fact, it’s probably still there!
      -Melissa

Leave a Reply

