The Countdown Is On


Well, this is it. My very last day being a 30-something.

 

 

I am savouring the final day of being 39. Today I am getting myself and my house in order. I have decided that I shall hit 40 being fabulous. No ifs, ands, or buts. Reflecting back on my life thus far a few things are glaringly obvious.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let me expand.

 1. I have embraced the concept of being thankful. I don’t ever remember a time when I was not appreciative of the people, things, and experiences in my life. Sure, there are always negative moments sprinkled here and there but that does not define my existence, it only makes me appreciate the blessings even more.

 

 

2. I have an incredible group of friends. I believe it is true that we attract those of similar values and that our lives are intertwined with others’ for a purpose.

 

 

3. I never wanted to “fit in” and still don’t. On the flip side, I never chose to purposely “stand out”. My purpose is to be myself. Comfortable in my own skin and with my thought processes.  During the last few years of my 30’s I have learned to love the real me. Flaws and all – I own who I am. I love being unapologetically Me. It is awe-inspiring to watch my close friends as they come into their true self as well. To witness the confidence shift that makes a person captivating.

 

 

4. I no longer have the patience for idiocy or pompousness. I simply walk away without snaring myself in the web of manipulation. I think it was having children that made me wake up to this reality. I have lots of goodness on my plate, why ruin it with toxic thoughts and actions. No thanks.

 If life really begins on your 40th birthday, it’s because that’s when women finally get it… the guts to take back their lives. – Laura Randolph

 

5.  My grandma was right when she told me at a young age that laughter is the best medicine. Nothing makes me feel more alive than laughter. There is no other feeling that lifts the human Spirit quite like it.

 

 

6. Nature is essential to me being fully functioning. There is a certain vibration, if you will, that is felt when in nature. When we let down our guard and breathe slowly and deeply, the Earth’s pulse is detectable. We are all connected.

 

 

 I make the promise to myself as I turn 40 tomorrow to be true to myself. To enjoy the ride of Life with my arms spread wide open.  I occasionally have a mental boxing match with the concept of turning 40. I have to accept the fact that I am hitting the big 4-0. It isn’t really as big of a deal as others portray it to be. I look at it as though it has taken me 39 years to get to this place of loving Life. If you asked me the same questions at 20 and again now,  I would be much more fun and spontaneous now. Learning to love and be accepting has a magical way of allowing us to experience Life head on.

 

 

Whatever with the past has gone, the best is always yet to come. – Lucy Larcom

 

25 thoughts on “The Countdown Is On

  1. At 37, I feel like I’m really just getting to know who I am too. Or at least the me with kids…the me who I will be for the rest of my life. I hear the 40’s are great, and I know you will enjoy them and live each day to the fullest. Wishing you a happy and blessed 40th birthday!!

  2. What a wonderful way to start the day. Thank you for this and I hope today is a smashing day for you! You live, love, and be green each and every day! Thanks for being you! – Kaye
    PS I don’t remember my last day of being 39. Hope yours is memorable!

    • Thank you, Kaye. I’m happy to have played a positive part in your day. You are an exceptional woman who’s words are very much appreciated. For the record, my day has been wonderfully relaxed and memorable.

  3. “I love being unapologetically Me.” This is such a wonderful thing! I think when we accept ourselves and live OUR lives (rather than another’s idea of it), we begin adding the perfect spice to life. Spicy Melissa at 39 and beyond! How perfect! Happy Birthday Eve!!

  4. I promise you, the real best part of life is still to come and you will enjoy this precious journey of lifetime that you have in front and also the one that you can come through. I wish you all the amazing and wonderful moments packed in smiles, happiness and enrichment of your personality.
    Wishing you a very happy birthday and lots of happy times.

    Cheers to the life 🙂

  5. Pingback: Let`s Eat Cake « livelovebegreen

Leave a Reply

