Boredom Busters


Yesterday was a much-needed day off. One of my least favorite things to hear from my kids is “I’m bored.” Say what!? Bored? There is so much to do! To head off boredom, I decided that my daughter and I would hit Starbucks for a morning latte then go shopping bright and early and get supplies for an at-home mini spa day. We were in experimental mode and tried out some new-to-us face masks. What a hoot! These masks came in the form of (what else but) a mask. They were a fabric piece with eye, nose and mouth holes cut in them with the product soaked into the fabric. We accepted the variance because they are vegetarian approved and not tested on animals as well as looked safe in terms on ingredients. I must say that I don’t think I’ll use this type of mask again though. I like the slap it all over your face type of mask much better.

 

 

We kept laughing like idiots every time we looked at each other and the masks kept sliding around and losing contact with the skin. Not the masks’ design flaw but our hysterics that caused the issues. After 10-15 minutes we removed the masks with great results though. Our skin was soft and non-irritated, which is a huge bonus for my overly sensitive skin. To share in the hilarity of this weird-looking product, I shall shake off the fear of looking silly and share the stupidity with you. I apologize for the photo quality since we couldn’t remain still for long without cracking up. This is the best we could do.

 

 

 

Masks + Laughter = Good times

Masks + Laughter = Good times 

 

 

 

After our spa session, we moved on to the dreaded task of scrubbing the deck. I think we should have done this before the spa session since my “helper” made herself scarce after a short while and I ended up doing much of it by myself.  My work uniform of a tank top and shorts has left my co-workers and I with the most absurd wet suit-like tan lines. I decided that while scrubbing the deck I would try to diminish some of the severity of glaring whiteness that is my torso and don my bikini top with a pair of shorts. Not a well-planned venture on my part, I must say. Why is it that whenever I am the least dressed people start showing up? Nothing like being sweaty, half-dressed and covered with green slime from the deck and trying to be nonchalant when visitors show up! Good thing my 40-year-old self has decided to let go of my seriousness and laugh stuff off.

 

 

 

 

“If you can’t laugh at yourself, who can you laugh at?” – my Grandma

 

12 thoughts on “Boredom Busters

    • Thanks, Cyndi. It’s always nice to hear of smiles shared. We had such a blast! My Grandma was awesome and reminded me often that laughter is the best medicine and not to take myself too seriously.

  1. That’s the code word here for ut-oh better re-state that or mom will find some work to get done. Your fun alternative is a good thing to add to the mix 😉
    *anna

    • Saying one is bored around here generally ends up with Mom finding something crappy for them to do. I was feeling like some fun myself so why not take one of my favorite people along for the ride? Having fun is much better when in great company!

  2. Whenever I complained that I was bored, mom found some housework and chores for me to do. I eventually figured out that I’d better not gripe about boredom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

