Thanksgiving Challenge


Last year at this time I was in full-out Thanksgiving dinner mode. See last year’s post here. This year I thought I was going to cruise through the weekend with absolutely no stress in sight. Alas, here I am on Thanksgiving Monday in the throes of assembling something “wow-worthy”. If not for my family’s enjoyment then at least my own sense of accomplishment. Here’s the thing…since we went to my parents’ house for Thanksgiving for a couple of days I figured that I wouldn’t feel like preparing one myself so I didn’t fill my fridge and pantry with any of the necessary ingredients. This Thanksgiving Day I have decided to challenge myself by putting together a full spread with a near empty kitchen. I seem to like this type of challenge since I do this type of thing frequently. I cook with the spirit of adventure – trying new things is great fun and I seldom use recipes except to bake.  I am sticking to an Autumn harvest theme in celebration of the season.

 

At present I have a luscious smelling pot of pumpkin and roasted garlic soup simmering on the stove. It is chock full of delicious organic ingredients and fresh herbs from my garden. In the oven is a cauliflower roasting away with real butter (mmmm…) and a sweet mesquite spice blend.  I have yet to sort out a main dish but I suspect a chickpea something or other is about to be concocted.  I’ll report back on that if anyone is interested in the comments below.  Cyndi over at Healthy A-Z inquired as to whether I would be making the gluten-free pumpkin pie that I made last year. She inspired me to do so. Sadly, my cupboards were void of the necessary items so I have decided to whip up a spiced custard and serve with baked apples. 

 

This time of year encourages me to get busy in my kitchen and get back to the simplicity of great food using what is being harvested. Soups and stews fill my foodie brain and I enjoy the run out to the back garden to snip herbs for whatever is in the works on the stove. I am usually hopping from stone to stone down the garden path in my bare feet and quickly darting back into the warmth of my fragrant kitchen with my arms full of healthy goodness.  

 

To all of my fellow Canadians, may you be filled with thanks for all of your blessings and enjoy a wonderful Thanksgiving with friends and family. To all the non-Canadians, let the spirit of gratefulness bring you peace at this splendid time of year.

 

 

 

“Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough.”  – Oprah Winfrey

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Challenge

    • Thanks, Kaye! That’s wonderful to hear that I inspire…wow!

      There is no recipe, just throw stuff in the pot is my usual method of madness when cooking. I’ve experimented a lot so I am comfortable with flavours I enjoy that compliment each other. I will post again shortly (a day or two) with ideas and my “bit of this- pinch of that” style instructions for the soup.

      Roasted cauliflower is a breeze and is a great additional side dish. I use a big cast iron dutch oven-casserole dish and toss in the cauliflower florets and pieced stems in. Toss with olive oil, butter or coconut oil, seasoning of your choice and mix together. Put the lid on and put it in the oven at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes to an hour. It will get nicely browned if you don’t stir it during cooking. So yummy.

  1. We should all get into the spirit of gratefulness more often around here, as you said, and maybe start with the cooking. You are right – most times you don’t need much to put together a good, healthy meal. I am sure you had a great Thanksgiving holiday!

    • I always strive to enjoy myself enrich the lives of those around me. My family is as adventurous as I am in trying new things food-wise and never hesitates to at least sample what I’ve concocted. When I was young and broke, I found out how inexpensive nourishing oneself can be. Sustenance need not be about how much you spend or have but what you do with what’s available. Now that I have the means to put more options on my table I still choose to nourish my children with goodness, not convenience and luxuries. Our Thanksgiving was wonderful…we were together and that’s what matters.

    • Thank you, Shakti. There is great pleasure for me in producing delicious dishes from simple ingredients. The closer to the source the better. I love experimenting! To keep the body and Spirit healthy I feel it needs to be fueled with proper nutrition made with positive energy. Thanks for commenting.

  2. I have a friend in Saskatoon and have celebrated Thanksgiving with him at his home. He has celebrated Thanksgiving with me in Nebraska, too. We enjoy the fact of two Thanksgivings. A person can never be too thankful.

Leave a Reply

