Inner Child Visits Disney


Success at last!

 

 

After years of hearing, “When can we go to Disney, Mom?” and months of planning the dream finally became a reality. This was the only thing my kids had ever really asked me for and I was determined to make their dreams come true. I persevered through setbacks over the years while keeping the prize of Disney in my sights. It became about more than a child’s request. It morphed into a personal feat of determination to accomplish something that was slapped out of the air whenever the words were spoken by negative thinkers. Those that didn’t personally enjoy Disney, had already been there and lost their Inner Child somewhere along life’s path, or were hell-bent on being a dream crusher. I ignored them all…even though their words and actions hurt me and my kids I stayed focused. I reiterated over and over to my children that I was taking them to Disney. Then I went one step further and committed – I gave them a time period. I was now tapped into the reality and was not going back on my promise. It was happening.

“Determination gives you the resolve to keep going in spite of the roadblocks that lay before you.”

– Denis Waitley

I am thrilled that it came together the way it did. My children are no longer tiny Beings that need to be toted or pushed in strollers, thank goodness, which made everything more enjoyable all around. I thanked my lucky stars whenever I witnessed parents struggling with over-tired and cranky wee ones, juggling diaper bags and strollers, and having to pretend they were enjoying all the kiddie rides when I know they were secretly longing for the Tower of Terror.  There is something to be thankful for in each stage of parenting and at present I am reaping the rewards of kooky teenagers. They are like aliens sometimes but they are so much more enjoyable to travel with than little ones. That said, last week my sister and I accompanied  my two kids on this magical journey and let our Inner Children run wild!

 

 

This vacation was more than just time away for me and my kids. This was about taking time to connect outside of the regular realm of our existence.  I have always had a wonderful relationship with my kids and this was another aspect to explore – travelling together for more than a few hours in the car. It was a fabulous experience! I am a Spirit that hungers for travel, adventure and fun so  who better to share this with? This excursion was also about strength and determination to accomplish a goal. To teach perseverance and to take part in making someone else’s dream come true. To share a joyful experience that they would hold in their memories for a lifetime. Time spent with my sister is always a blessing as well.  My parents gave my sisters and I the love of travel early on and we all feel grateful to them for sharing such a wonderful gift with us. I am thankful I can do the same for my children.

 

 

I have been asked a few times what my favourite part of going to Disney was. Honestly, I think the unspoken energy shift in my kids was the most incredible thing I have ever witnessed. I tear up with love for them as I type now. When a person lets their walls down and just lives for pure joy and laughter it is the most amazing thing to witness.

 

 

I must admit that I was a bit distracted at times with the beautiful plant life. So many gorgeous specimens that we don’t have here in southern Ontario. I was forever taking pictures of vegetation and spouting off Latin names as my kids just rolled their eyes at me and tuned out. Except when I said Monstera…that caught their attention. Go figure.

 

 

 

garden at resort

tree person

As we walked by a stand of trees in the Animal Kingdom Park this leafy figure stepped out of the gardens. They were on stilts and moved slowly and fluidly along the edge of the greenery.

These are just a few of the photos I took of the plant life – I wouldn’t want to bore you by sharing all of them. The gardens at Disney were spectacular and the amount of lush foliage and trees surrounding all the resorts, hotels and parks was a sight to behold. Disney certainly does it up right.

highway signs

Disney, here we come!

disney arch

It was all I could do not to squeal as we went under the arch. Seriously! I’m a big kid.

I think we were more excited than the kids!

I think we were more excited than the kids!

 

We have arrived!

Join me again next post when we get off the bus and get crack-a-lackin’ at having some serious fun!

 

“You’re dead if you only aim for kids. Adults are only kids grown up, anyway.”

– Walt Disney

 

 

14 thoughts on “Inner Child Visits Disney

  1. I would have wanted to smack any naysayers who tried to pooh-pooh your dream. Disney is definitely an adventure worth exploring!! There is a kid in each of us just waiting for that kind of adventure!

    “I think the unspoken energy shift in my kids was the most incredible thing I have ever witnessed.” This just warms my heart. I am so glad you had this kind of wonderful experience with them.

  2. Thanks, Cyndi. As much as smacking naysayers was tempting I have learned to rise above. Most often those trying to crush someone else’s dreams are waging internal war about something or other. I feel sorry for them that they feel the need to act like jerks.

    I have been to both Disney World (numerous times) and DisneyLand and loved them both. I agree that Disney is an experience worth having. An experience like none other, really. I wanted my kids to feel the thrill!

  3. Beautiful post, Melissa. I just warmed to the following words: “I gave them a time period. I was now tapped into the reality and was not going back on my promise. It was happening.” Trapped in to the reality – I love that. I honestly feel dreams don’t happen if that doesn’t happen. Loved your images. Great lesson in life in the way you have done this. Hope other dreams happen for you as well. “Trapped in to the reality” – hell, I like that!

    • Thank you, Don. I would like to point out that I was “tapped in” not “trapped in”. I aim to never feel trapped. 🙂 Tapping into a goal or plan is putting things in motion for me. When I tell myself it is in the process of happening there is no going back…I guess I may be a bit headstrong, eh? I am now focused on my next goal (a secret for now) and moving with forward momentum! Hope you feel fired up to attack your goals!

      • Sorry Melissa. I did read it as tapped in. I don’t know where the “r” came from. I’m certainly fired up. On Monday night I’ll be in a tiny flashing light high in the dark sky over the African continent, winging my way to London. Life is good.

  4. You know, I didn’t twig about where you were recently. I can’t tell you how happy I am for you and your kids having this experience.

  5. It sounds great an dI love to see more. I do agree that goingout together with childrne – teenagers is so much easier than when they were small. I enjoy everything I do with them too, it is a precious gift and we need to cherish the time we have with them. It won’t last forever.

    • So true, Ute. Our children are growing up far too quickly. Although for some reason I don’t envision myself aging at all! 🙂 I did love carrying my babies around in a papoose/sling but it’s definitely easier when their own legs carry them! More is on the way!

    • Good call, Teresa. Even though circumstances beyond my control prevented me from taking my kids when they were small, I am thankful it worked out the way it did.
      Why invite extra stress into your life? We can all do without that.

Leave a Reply

