Beach Bliss


 

 

 

Snack Shack/Restrooms

 

Have you ever heard the call? The call to head to a certain location?

Do you listen?

This morning, although the temperature was frigid, the beach called to me.

I have not been spending as much time as I desire outdoors lately so when the beach called, I dropped everything and went directly there.

Wind blown sand and snow

Wind blown sand and snow

 

Nature holds many surprises if you look around and notice the details.

The windswept sand and snow is a temporary painting on the landscape.

I dare not walk past without admiring its beauty.

swim at your own risk

swim at your own risk

 

 

 

 

trees along the pier

trees along the pier

“Of winter’s lifeless world each tree
Now seems a perfect part;
Yet each one holds summer’s secret
Deep down within its heart.”
~Charles G. Stater

 

beach volleyball

beach volleyball

 

 

 

 

Winter Beach

Winter Beach

 

There is something so mystical about the beach in the winter.

It is other-worldly. The sights, sounds and scents are very different from during any other season.

I stood in this spot for an extended period of time. Taking it all in until my face started to hurt from the cold.

With my ear buds in, listening to music I found myself dancing. I know. Weird, right?

I was alone on the beach without a soul in sight and here I was dancing!

I rejoiced in the sensation of pure bliss – of Spirit and surroundings.

Think I’m odd if you want to…whatever. Before you pass judgement though I dare you to give it a go for yourself.

Glimpse of Summers Past

Glimpse of Summers Past

 

 

 

 

snow fence

“Land really is the best art.” – Andy Warhol

 

 

Winter Sun

Winter Sun

 

 

 

 

Bench

 

 

 

 

[W]hat a severe yet master artist old Winter is…. No longer the canvas and the pigments, but the marble and the chisel.”  ~John Burroughs, “The Snow-Walkers,” 1866

12 thoughts on “Beach Bliss

    • Two and a half months ago I was on a beach near you and wearing a sundress and barefoot, Cyndi. Beautifully warm yet windy. Now I’m tromping through snow with a parka and boots on! The beach is sensational in any season and climate. Although, I must admit that I like wintry beaches best…no sand in the bathing suit. 😉

  1. Snow and the beach. It just doesn’t compute with me Melissa. Never seen snow on the Coast here where we are. We’re dying of heat so to see your photos is like looking at another world. Sure you guys aren’t living on Venus. 🙂

    • I honestly can’t imagine living in a location with no snow; or at the very least a distinct cold snap that lasts a few months. I’m honored to have enlightened some of you with what a Canadian beach in the winter looks like. It definitely does feel like something from a space-themed film, Don. 🙂

  2. Stunning views and glad to have been back here 🙂 again. With time, things move, we move and sometimes we still come back to the things that move us 🙂 🙂

    I can feel the chill through my spine thinking of that cold though 🙂 – still mild here.

  3. The cold winter has settled in again here and the winds’ whistle from off the water is starting to call. The voice of wintry forests is louder at the moment though…the crunch of snow underfoot wakes all of the senses.

    Life is ever flowing, yet there remains a thread to those things that move our Spirit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

