Healing Silence


“The soul always knows what to do to heal itself. The challenge is to silence the mind.”

– Caroline Myss

creek

Silencing the mind can be one of the most difficult tasks we as humans have to undertake. It sounds simple yet, if you are anything like me, the brain is usually swimming with “stuff”.

I honestly don’t recall a time in my life when I have been pulled in so many directions at once like I am at present.

Silencing the mind feels like an insurmountable quest lately. When things become so overwhelming I just want to escape, that’s exactly what I do. I find myself walking or surrounding myself with nature in some form or another.

There is nowhere indoors that can possibly come close to the uplifting and enlightening experience of being immersed in the great outdoors.

I feel part of a whole when I am outdoors. Infinitesimally small, yet connected to a web that’s never-ending.

Mother Nature instinctively wraps her loving arms around me and settles my heart and instantly quiets my mind.

It is in this peaceful embrace that my soul begins to heal.

13 thoughts on “Healing Silence

  1. I can’t believe how much this post is like my life right now, lol. I love the quote. I am going to sticky note it to my computer screen. So many smiles for you 🙂

    • Smiles are always uplifting, Nomibug. Thanks. It’s interesting how life seems to allow us to walk with others (even if briefly) that are having parallel experiences in some aspect. Sending positive thoughts and smiles your way, bug.

  2. In a way it is a good sign that you’re being pulled so much. It means that you are becoming more and more aware of the inner turnmoil of the mind. I won’t call walking in nature escaping, as long as you are aware of everything which is happening inside and outside ofcourse 😉

    If things are overwhelming, you could try to stay with these feelings for a little while. It might just be the storm will settle if you give it full attention without judgements.

    All the best on your journey! 🙂
    Pieter

    • I’m certainly learning where my strength lies, Pieter. Thank you for your logical thoughts toward introspection. I hadn’t thought of myself as escaping the feelings and emotions until you enlightened me to my wording. I appreciate this. I usually try to ride the waves of thoughts and emotions and see them through and come to a resolution; I am staying true to form. At the moment I need to step away for short spells of just “being” to release the stress and over-thinking. It’s my sanity of sorts to get back home to Nature instead of cooped up within the confines of a physical structure.

      My journey has thrown some wicked curves in the Path but it’s all good…it’s creating a more purposeful and serene Me. Don’t fret though, my smile is always at the ready.

      Melissa

      • Glad to read there is always a smile Melissa 🙂

        To me it’s pretty much the same. Until last year i ignored or put away any sign of stress. Only when i could no longer hide from it, did i have to courage to just sit with it even though it was very uncomfortable.
        But i must say that it brought me a lot of insight in my inner workings and the stress eventually leaves me. I’m sure there are even better ways to connect with the inner stress, but to met at least it was a start.

        And going back home to nature.. i do that a lot myself too! I would see it as a refuge, not an escape.. especially because language can define us more than we are aware of 🙂

        Have a save journey!

        Pieter

      • Perfectly worded…nature is most certainly a refuge. Being within nature’s fold is the quintessence of home.

        I’m not a high stress individual but lately the load has been a heavy burden to bear. I know when I struggle with carrying the load that I need to step outside myself and reevaluate the way in which I’m carrying it. One step at a time, one emotion at a time, clarity comes when I let my Soul speak clearly through the muddle.

        I agree that the coping mechanisms you have employed are valuable. Thanks for sharing!

        Big smiles!

  3. I have watched multiple opportunities arise around me of late. They are not fires that demand attention, just sparks of possibilities. And I have been wondering if it is life reminding me of the many paths that can be taken on my own personal journey…with none being wrong. Perhaps it is my task to find the silence and tune in, so I can decide which opportunity feeds my soul. Then I can confidently walk in that direction (maybe after saying good bye to others). Ahhhh, the possibilities.

    Sending some extra silence your way…

    • Lovely analogy, Cyndi. Multiple opportunities keep things fresh. When your instincts lead you, follow! There are lessons and new paths all around us when we keep our eyes and mind open to them. Enjoy the process!

      Thank you. 😀

  4. I am sending many smiles 🙂 🙂 🙂 and good vibes towards you. I am just the same – I need to be outside, in the Nature to quiet the little voices in my head. I find that the hardest time is until you can somehow make a choice, then somehow things are settling in the right direction. C. Castaneda said that – from all the paths, you should choose and follow a path with heart, this way it will always be enjoyable. I hope you take the time and choose well…:)

    • That’s a wonderful quote…thank you so much for sharing. The feeling of being literally grounded and One with the flow of life while in Nature makes for deeper clarity.
      Appreciating the good vibes and smiles. 😀

Leave a Reply

