Love-Hate Relationship


Have you ever been entwined in a love-hate relationship? I find myself caught up in the web of one such bond at present…with my Keurig coffee maker. Yes, you heard right. The convenience and speedy delivery of coffee to my body makes me swoon with pleasure while the environmental and health impacts trouble me greatly. So much so that I have shunned my Keurig brewing system in favour of slow-mo brewing techniques. Again.

 

If you’ve been around here long enough or are a friend or co-worker (which makes you and automatic friend) of mine, you are very aware of my deep-rooted desire to be constantly caffeinated with the strongest and fiercest cup o’ heaven I can get my mitts on. Before the K-brewer of Evilness was dropped on my lap a few Christmases ago, I immersed myself in the process of making a perfect cup of coffee each and every time. I think the beverage was originally more about the ritual than the drink itself. I did away with an automatic coffee pot and opted for a French press, a cone filter-drip doo-da for on top of my single cup, and a stove-top espresso pot. I adore each system for different reasons. Then I was swept off my feet by a handsome new stranger; his name was Keurig. He gave me everything I wanted and all of the things I didn’t really need. My friends and I joke about resorting to dragging around IV poles to keep the coffee flowing into us 24/7 and Mr. Temptation (Keurig) was the closest I was going to get.

 

 

 

Image found on imgfave.com

Image found on imgfave.com

 

 

 

Before Sir Hotness landed on my kitchen counter I had considered the pros and cons of introducing another brewing system in my home. I had decided to forego said machine due to its wasteful nature while looking longingly at it every time I was in ones vicinity. Here’s the flip side of this passionate vortex of quick caffeine supply…

 

I don’t know which is worse, the fact that hot water is blasting through plastic, leaching particles of nastiness into my coffee to be absorbed by my body or the horrific amount of waste from the stack of K-cups that accumulates. There’s a lot of buzz at the moment in regard to convenient brewing systems such as the Keurig and Tassimo. I highly recommend doing some personal  research for yourself on this. As far as my research has concluded, there is no recycling program for K-cups other than the Grounds To Grow On program through Keurig themselves. This program appears to be a step in the right direction but is limited as far as access goes, is expensive to utilize, and depending on your opinion may not be a viable form of plastic aftermarket utilization. I struggle with the notion that burning plastics as an energy source is acceptable. The Green Mountain Coffee Co. has a target of making 100% of K-cups recyclable by 2020. For more info see the sustainability report here. I have a few options as far as disposal of the single use cups go.

 

1. I can toss it in the trash bin which makes me feel guilty at creating excess and unnecessary waste for the landfill.

2. I can save the used K-cups and become an episode of Hoarders until a recycling option becomes available.

3. I could take apart each K-cup myself and compost the coffee grounds, recycle the foil liner, and re-purpose all those pesky little plastic cups somehow.

 

 

 

None of these options are particularly appealing. I have purchased a reusable My K-cup to use my own ground coffee in a wire mesh basket inside a plastic case. There is yet another issue…more plastic. It seems like a never-ending cycle, doesn’t it? In my constant quest to “do the right thing” I have been hunting down a stainless steel reusable My K-cup. I have located such a thing on Amazon (of course) with a price tag of $19.99 Canadian. Do I want to shell out another $20 so I can brew coffee in single cups? I actually loathe the refillable K-cups for one reason only; I use a gigantic cup in the morning and need to refill the cups twice. It is not fun trying to dump the used grounds into the compost bin when they are piping hot and I have not yet consumed any of my beloved liquid gold. I am a patient woman but this tests my limits most mornings.

 

 

Besides the disposal of these little cups of enviro-doom there is the issue of how they are made to begin with and the environmental impact before use.

1. Made from plastic that may or may not be heat-grade and/or food grade, plastic is a product of the oil industry which is an environmental nightmare.

2. The amount of energy used to manufacture and fill the mass amounts of individual sized cups is wasteful.

3. The cardboard boxes that the K-cups are packed in. Although recyclable and occasionally made from a percentage of recycled paper themselves it is still unnecessary excess packaging.

 

 

I have only touched on the notion of health risks due to heat and unknown plastics coupled with an acidic element such as coffee.  This is a topic for further research before I can have an opinion other than, “why risk it on a regular basis?”  I don’t claim to be the picture of perfection as far as my environmental footprint is concerned but I always strive to do the best I can to reduce my impact. Every little thing each of us does makes a difference and it adds up. I have returned to my original love of perfectly, and sometimes leisurely, brewing techniques that produce a far superior cup of coffee.  Even if it means letting go of express coffee consumption! Egad!

 

 

 

 

“And Man created the plastic bag and the tin and aluminum can and the cellophane wrapper and the paper plate, and this was good because Man could then take his automobile and buy all his food in one place and He could save that which was good to eat in the refrigerator and throw away that which had no further use.  And soon the earth was covered with plastic bags and aluminum cans and paper plates and disposable bottles and there was nowhere to sit down or walk, and Man shook his head and cried:  “Look at this Godawful mess.”  “~Art Buchwald, 1970

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Love-Hate Relationship

  1. Wow, I have certainly missed a lot of angst from decision-making as a result of my disinterest…well, dislike, to be honest…in coffee. Great respect your thought process though!!

    • That does certainly make it easier, Cyndi. I never enjoyed coffee until my late 20’s. I actually found it repulsive! Weird, eh? Ten years later and here I am, a coffee-head pondering the impact of brewing systems.

  2. You’re right, every little thing does make a difference (or at least we have to believe this) – that’s why I didn’t succumb to ‘Mr. Temptation’ allure – where will we stop in our seek for convenience and ‘better’ products…

    • Having a positive impact doesn’t have to necessarily be on a massive scale, in my opinion. Sure that’s awesome when it does work out that way but if each of us individually says “enough is enough”, the tide will start to turn. Kudos to you for staying strong, girl! When it comes to coffee you may as well ask me “What would you do for a Klondike bar?” LOL

  3. Yeah, I was thinking of getting a Nespresso (or similar competitor). But then thought of the waste. I had the idea for months before the accumulated waste even occurred to me (which is odd, because I am always balancing that stuff in my head).

    The whole discussion is roughly analogous to the bottled water discussion (though honestly, not as severe, bottled water is actually of pretty poor quality!)

    Well, it’s pretty moot now since I’m trying to avoid the joe in an attempt to regulate my sleeping patterns…

    • Good point, D. Bottled water was the pinnacle of trendy convenience when it first burst onto the market only to now be shunned as wasteful and nasty. To which I would highly agree with. Glass water bottles are my go-to vessel of choice.

      No joe? Yeesh! Good luck.

    • I just can’t get past the wasteful, “I’m only one person so it doesn’t matter” mindset so many folks have. I hear it almost on a daily basis. Sad. The quote seemed very fitting to my message…glad you approve that it “fits”.

      It’s always time for a great cup of fair trade, organic, slow-brewed coffee! 😉

  4. ‘K brewer of evilness’ made me laugh. Thumbs up to the old school processes that make us slow down and truly appreciate such things as a damn fine cup of coffee 🙂 … I say as I consider flicking my heater switch instead of getting up to get another blanket. Hmmm, ok ok, blanket it is.

    • There is nothing like a good, heavy stack of blankets piled on to feel cozy! Much better than dry heater air, that’s for sure. 😉 Good on you!

      Ha! More than happy to share a laugh with you, Nomibug. Mr. Hotness tempted me this morning for a quick fix but I’m so very happy I held out and persevered with my drip cone – such a great cup of coffee to start a wild weather day. I now hiss at evil brewer extraordinaire when I walk by…at least inside my head. 😛

Leave a Reply

